Lord Jim


Read by Stewart Wills

(4.6 stars; 113 reviews)

A classic of early literary modernism, Lord Jim tells the story of a young "simple and sensitive character" who loses his honor in a display of cowardice at sea -- and of his expiation of that sin against his own "shadowy ideal of conduct" on the remote island of Patusan. The novel, written by Conrad for magazine serialization during an intense and chaotic ten months in 1899 and 1900, has, in the words of Thomas C. Moser, "the rare distinction of being a masterpiece in two separate genres. It is at once an exotic adventure story of the Eastern seas in the popular tradition of Kipling and Stevenson and a complexly wrought 'art novel' in the tradition of Flaubert and James. (summary by Stewart Wills)

(14 hr 25 min)

Chapters

Chapter 1 18:53 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapter 2 14:14 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapter 3 20:42 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapter 4 12:34 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapter 5 46:34 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapter 6 42:16 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapter 7 25:22 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapter 8 25:40 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapter 9 23:28 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapter 10 31:32 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapter 11 10:47 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapter 12 20:58 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapter 13 29:13 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapter 14 27:37 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapters 15-17 34:22 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapters 18-19 34:27 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapter 20 31:09 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapters 21-22 30:45 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapters 23-24 32:01 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapters 25-26 33:16 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapters 27-28 32:20 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapters 29-30 25:46 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapters 31-32 30:27 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapters 33-34 45:38 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapters 35-36 30:50 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapters 37-38 38:41 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapters 39-40 37:08 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapters 41-42 29:17 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapters 43-44 26:56 Read by Stewart Wills
Chapter 45 22:24 Read by Stewart Wills

Reviews

Bravo from Borneo


(5 stars)

This is my favourite novel of all time. I first read it 25 years ago and was deeply affected by it then...as now...given its strong resonance with my own life; so much hope dashed by a single act of madness on my part that impacted the person I loved and had prayed would be mine. This audio version is very well read. I know it will now take me a few days to marshall my senses...but as always...I am glad to have walked with Lord Jim and to have shared his journey for a while. May I retain the strength of character of my hero and abide in the knowledge that I have changed and walk a different path now...hoping one day to be able to lift my head and stand tall.

Good reading


(4 stars)

Wills' reading, on the other hand, is bright, inflective, and interesting, but at the same time it's still Joseph Conrad's book that's the star of the show. Wills doesn't distract you - you forget that he's there, and you just listen. As for the book itself, well, plenty has been written about Lord Jim, better than I could write it. It's a classic.


(5 stars)

Though the author communicates a very racist and colonial attitude throughout, I had to remind myself this was reflective of the attitudes of the time when this was written. I appreciated Conrad's skill in portraying human aspiration and frailty. The Libivox reader of this novel was excellent. ..thank you!

wonderful


(5 stars)

This is a book to read for the words.The story expertly constructed to keep you guessing is wasted on those who only want a story.The reading was professional and added much to the listening experience. Possibly in the future I will believe I saw a film!

The lord of hearts, that went away unforgiven.


(5 stars)

The novel is a good display of morality v/s reality. The reader did a wonderful job. Listening the novel in his voice was a wonderful experience. Thanks a lot to him.

good story


(5 stars)

I don’t want to say anything to explain or give away the subject matter, but this is quite a story. I’m glad I listened. Good job by the narrator. Thank you.


(5 stars)

Excellent reading, just the pronunciation of quay a little jarring... (key, not kway), and 'short-lived' (short 'i' in lived like 'bit', not a long 'eye') :-) Good work... Thank you.

Powerful tale!


(5 stars)

A must listen. Won’t say a lot about the plot, to avoid spoilers. Every one of us has a bit of Lord Jim in us. Splendid reading.